Username:   Password:   

-- All views and opinions expressed in this forum belong to individual UPA members and are not necessarily those of the UPA nor the Board of Directors.--
Index  FAQ  Search  Memberlist  Usergroups  Profile  Register
  IB white eyed pied cock bred to IB hen
Jump to:    
  Post new topic   Reply to topic The United Peafowl Association - www.peafowl.org Forum Index » Breeding and Genetics     
burdgurl
UPA MEMBER
UPA MEMBER

PostPosted: Sun Jun 24, 2012 4:56 pm Reply with quote

produces a white chick .
When this chick becomes of breeding age and is bred back to a India blue , ( white eyed pied or just blue ) what will the resulting offspring be ?
lhROW
UPA MEMBER
UPA MEMBER

PostPosted: Sun Jun 24, 2012 7:35 pm Reply with quote

Okay, I'm a total beginner at this...

But if it's really a white chick, doesn't that mean the IB hen was split white?

I didn't think you could get a white chick unless both parents were carrying the white gene.

But I'm so new at figuring out the genetics that you could do better flipping a coin. Laughing

Hopefully somebody that understands this stuff will explain...

UPA MEMBER
UPA MEMBER

PostPosted: Sun Jun 24, 2012 7:54 pm Reply with quote

I am right there with you, all these genetics confuse me terribly but you could be right , I honestly don't know.
I also am curious ( to confuse matters even more ) but wondering: what if when within a sex linked pairing of birds.. say a purple white eyed pied cock bred to a purple hen.. produced a white offspring. If you take that white offspring and bred it back to either a purple white eyed pied cock or a purple hen, (depending on what the said white offspring turns out to be sex wise ) will THAT mating produce?
lhROW
UPA MEMBER
UPA MEMBER

PostPosted: Sun Jun 24, 2012 9:59 pm Reply with quote

Well, taking a shot in the dark at the first question...

White-eyed is supposed to be co-dominant, I think, so you could get the white-eyed trait even if only one bird had it.